Reflection Group

Reinforcing the dialogue

The Euromed Audiovisual Programme aims at encouraging the emergence of a common Euro-Mediterranean awareness and vision based on mutual respect and understanding, as well as on cultural diversity. It thus can be seen as a platform to pursue an effective perspective of peace on both shores of the Mediterranean Sea.

To achieve this objective the European Commission is aware of the need for a long term strategy in the field of audiovisual cooperation that can encourage the development of stable relationships between Mediterranean countries in the film and audio-visual sector.

Only through a long term policy would it be possible to pursue the objective of disseminating understanding and knowledge of Mediterranean Arab cinema in Europe, representing both an historical entity as well as a contemporary cultural entity. Only with a long term strategy will it be possible to establish distribution and conservation mechanisms to facilitate the circulation of the most outstanding films coming from both shores of the Mediterranean.

The main aim of the reflection group should be to conceive long term cooperation instruments and identify the best administrative and technical ways to implement these instruments. The reflection group should identify the priorities and the main cooperation themes for the future of the Euro-Mediterranean audiovisual policy.

According to this statement, here are some definitions concerning the Group of reflection:

    Role of the Group of reflection
  • to advise and orientate the European Commission in the next steps of its audiovisual euro-mediterranean policy;
  • to bridge the actual policy and its future with the concerned national authorities;
  • to help implementing the recommendations resulting from the EAVII programme;
  • to bring visibility to the EAII programme activities and optimize its achievements for the benefit of MEDA countries professionals.
    Selection criteria
  • to be a committed and recognized professional currently working in one of the fields of interest to the programme at an opinion-making level (author, director, producer, distributor, sales agent, exhibitor, festival director, commissioning editor or TV executive, archive holder or curator, journalist, critic….), coming from the MEDA countries or the E.U;
  • to be in a decision maker in any institution of the MEDA countries or the E.U in charge of film, TV, archive policies or general cultural policies, or to be member of advisory boards or committees in those sectors;
  • to be a decision maker in an Euro-Mediterranean cooperation institution or international institution dealing with Euro-Mediterranean cooperation.
  • the members should have access and recognition in their home countries at political level;
  • they have to be decision-makers;
  • in the case they come from the artistic sector (author, director…) they should benefit from a certain level of notoriety (award in festivals, member of professional organisations…);
  • they should not be part of any programme benefiting from EAII support;
  • they should be fluent in French and/or English.

The Members of the Reflection Group are:

Karl Baumgartner, Germany. Founder of the production and distribution company Pandora, one of the most prolific German company. He produced more than 60 films, many of them with non European film makers.

Ahmed Bedjaoui, Algeria.

Mahmoud Ben Mahmoud, Tunisia. Film director (author among others films of Les Siestes Grenadines, Les Milles et une voix a documentary about music and Islam)

Luciana Castellina, Italy. Journalist, former President of Italia Cinema (the organisation in charge of the promotion of European cinema abroad), Honorary President of the European Film Festival, Viareggio.

Michel Demopoulos, Greece. Advisor to the ERT (Greek Public Television) and former director of the Thessalonica Film Festival.

Sandra den Hamer, The Netherlands. Director of the Amsterdam Film Museum.

Amos Gitai, Israel. Film director (author of Kadosh, selected at the Cannes Film Festival in 1998, Kippour, selected at the Cannes Film Festival in 2000 Free Zone selected at the Cannes Film Festival in 2000 among others)

Michel Khleifi, Palestine. Film director (author among others films of Forbidden Marriages in the Holy Land , a documentary about inter-racial couples in Israel and Route 181, a documentary about normal habitants in Palestine and Israel)

Marianne Khoury, Egypt. Misr International Films.

Giacomo Mazzone, (Italy, EBU deputy executive secretary.

Xavier Merlin, France. Centre National de la Cinématographie (CNC). Director of European and International Affairs.

Katriel Schory, Israel. Executive director of The Israel Film Fund and producer of more than 200 films (Deshaim S'Gulim, Ish She'Ahav B'Ivrit).

Hubert Toint, Belgium. Producer Saga Films (Darwin’s Nightmare, winner of the Césars 2006 and Oscar Nominated), President of Cineuropa, the European web site dedicated to European cinema.

Bengt Toll, Sweden. Producer. Director of the Göteborg Film Festival as well as head of the festival’s film fund. Bent Toll is also head of development of the Swedish regional film centre, Trollhättan’s Film i Väst and President of the Cine-regio network for European regional film funds.

Ceyda Tufan, Turkey. Director of Pi Film, a very dynamic Turkish film distribution and production company.

Hala Y. Zureikat, Jordan. Director of Jordan Radio and Television Corporation. Active member of Copeam.

N.B.Béchir Ben Trad, Tunisia. General Inspector of the Ministry of Culture, Director of audiovisual arts, who died a few weeks ago was also a member of the Reflection Group.

share this article by email print this page